Vote YES on Your School Budget Tuesday, May 18th!

Date Posted: 
Wednesday, May 12, 2021

Soon this pandemic will be over. Businesses will flourish again with ball games, concerts and packed beaches. Today we have a choice to fund our future and give our kids a chance to make a comeback too. Voting YES on your school budget gives our communities a chance to be Long Islanders again. Our kids have been through so much, so vote YES and give them a shot at being a kid again. Long Island Teachers, Teacher Leaders in Your Community.

On Tuesday, May 18th voters will head to the polls to vote on their school budgets and for members of the Board of Education. Below are the candidates that our local unions have endorsed for their local Board of Educations.


Suffolk County

District Endorsed Candidates
Babylon David Sonkin, Robert Verdi
Bayport-Blue Point Julia Pendola, Adrienne Cirone
Bellport (South Country) Cameron Trent
Brentwood Julia Burgos, Cindy Ciferri, Eileen Felix
Brookhaven-Comsewogue (PJS) Marge Mitchell, Corey Prinz, Rick Rennard
Central Islip Luis Alcantara, Debbie Cavanagh
Commack Jarrett Behar
Connetquot Brian Murphy, Marissol Mallon
East Islip Joann Walsh, Michael Dorgan, Stephen Ruland
Eastport-South Manor Christine Racca, Renee Pastor, James Governali
Elwood Heather Mammolito, James Tomeo
Harborfields Sue Broderick, Suzie Lustig, Eve Krief
Longwood Penelope Blizzard-McGrath, Victoria Molloy
Mattituck-Cutchogue Karen Letteriello
Middle Country John DeBenedetto, Deborah Mann-Rodriguez, Karen Lessler, Arlene Baressi
North Babylon Kelly Banculli, Matthew Lucchetti, Kathy Vento
Northport-East Northport Carol Taylor, Vicki Buscarino
Patchogue-Medford Marc A. Negrin, Bernadette Smith, Jennifer Krieger
Riverhead Colin Palmer, Susan Koukouna
Sachem Mike Isernia, Sabrina Pitkewicz, Vincent Reynolds
Sayville Carl Cangelosi, Keith Kolar, John Verdone
Sag Harbor Jordana Sobey and Ryan Winter
Three Village Deanna Bavlnka, Shaorui Li, Sue Rosenzweig
Smithtown Charles Rollins, Mandi Kowalik, Jeremy Thode
West Babylon Jennifer Wandasiewicz, John Evola, Lucy Campasano
West Islip Rich Antoniello, Debbie Brown


Nassau County

District Endorsed Candidate
Farmingdale Anthony Giordano, Kathy Lively, Mario Espinos
Great Neck Barbara Berkowitz
Levittown Marianne Diliberti, Adrian James Moran
North Shore TBD, Candidates must declare later this month
Plainedge Sisi Townson, Lynnda Nadien, Joseph Netto
Rockville Center Liz Dion (Incumbent), Kelly Barry (Incumbent), Erica Messier
West Hempstead Barbara Hafner, Kurt Rockensies
Westbury Dr. Pless Dickerson

Click here to download the endorsement list and bring it with you when you vote.


Sign up to receive our e-newsletter: The Long Island Educator

This public e-newsletter is intended to educate our political friends and neighbors, community allies and the press and media as to the important work we do, the charities we care about and the challenges we face.
Thank you for your interest in The Long Island Teachers.